News Flash

Township- News

Posted on: March 8, 2021

2021 Banner Community Award Winner

2021 ALOM Banner Community written on a Chalkboard

The Township of Pine has been named a 2021 Banner Community. The Banner Community program, sponsored by Allegheny County and the Allegheny League of Municipalities (ALOM), recognizes communities that commit to professional development, prudent fiscal management, transparency, accountability, and proactive communications engage the community stakeholders. A total of 71 municipalities and five municipal authorities were recognized this year.

 "Thank you to ALOM and Allegheny County for again recognizing the Township of Pine as a Banner Community," said Scott Anderson, Township Manager. "Our staff and elected officials work hard every day to assist our residents and businesses by providing the services they rely on each day. We are very proud of our municipality's commitment and excited to receive this designation again for 2021."

 A total of 54 municipalities received the Banner Community designation for multiple years, including Aspinwall, Avalon, Baldwin Borough, Baldwin Township, Bellevue, Bethel Park, Brentwood, Bridgeville, Butler (Butler County), Carnegie, Castle Shannon, Crafton, Dormont, East Deer, East McKeesport, Edgewood, Edgeworth, Elizabeth Township, Emsworth, Forest Hills, Fox Chapel, Glassport, Green Tree, Harrison, Heidelberg, Jefferson Hills, Kilbuck, Leet, Marshall, Millvale, Monroeville, Mt. Lebanon, Munhall, North Versailles, Oakmont, O'Hara, Pine, Pitcairn, Pleasant Hills, Port Vue, Robinson, Scott, Shaler, Sharpsburg, South Fayette, South Park, Swissvale, Verona, West Deer, West Homestead, West Mifflin, West View, Wilkinsburg, and Wilmerding.

 "All of our communities have been stressed during this pandemic, and perhaps none more than local governments which have had their finances as well as their operations impacted. Yet throughout these challenges, these municipalities continue to serve the residents of their community in ways that set them apart," said County Executive Rich Fitzgerald. "Congratulations to all of the recipients of the Banner Community designation. We are grateful to you for your continued efforts on behalf of your residents and businesses and are fortunate to have you as part of our county."

 The Township of Pine is a member of the Allegheny League of Municipalities, a nonprofit organization created in the early 1960s to coordinate local elected officials' needs. In 1974, it was officially established as the Allegheny League of Municipalities to coordinate, advocate and educate the hundreds of elected officials within its member municipalities in Allegheny County and southwestern Pennsylvania. The organization educates elected officials, delivers essential resources, and advocates for sound policy and legislation.

Facebook Twitter Email